Tianjin

Dates: 26 (evening) – 28 June

I wasn’t in Tianjin for very long. I took the opportunity to relax and wander a bit. Unknown to me, my hotel was in a former concession zone. When I arrived, I thought it all looked strangely European. After a quick online search, I realised that it was because it was formerly one of the designated areas where Europeans could trade in Tianjin. The area has many international shops, bars and cafes, and I also saw an unexpected number of Europeans and other foreigners about the place.

My wandering included a visit to the old streets, which exist in some form in most cities in China. It’s a nice place to explore some shops and try snack food.

I also spent some time in a couple of parks. Parks in China are just nice, you know? Little paths and pagodas, sometimes with music playing.

The weather was a bit warmer than it had been in Dalian, and after only a couple of days my throat was starting to get irritated from the pollution.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

